Council & Staff

After nine years of working and operating under The Providence Plan, Building Futures has begun a new phase of organizational development as an independent not for profit corporation.  Guiding us in this process is our Executive Director Andrew Cortés, and our newly established Board of Directors:

Board Members

Gregory Mancini, Chair
Build Rhode Island

William Bryan, Treasurer
Gilbane Building Company

Scott Duhamel, Secretary
RI Building & Construction Trades Council
International Union of Painters & Allied Trades

Bruce Iannuccillo, Director
R.P. Iannuccillo & Sons

Michael Sabitoni, Director
RI Building & Construction Trades Council
LIUNA

Building Futures Advisory Council

The members of our Advisory Council have been selected carefully, each of them leaders from across and beyond the construction sector.

With representatives from labor, management, employers, and researchers, our Advisory Council serves as an industry roundtable, providing guidance to the systemic change work of Building Futures and overseeing our pre-apprenticeship program.

Joined by individuals from community based organizations, the education community and government, the Advisory Council is uniquely suited to ensure that the interests of all stakeholders are well considered in our work.

Council Members

Gregory Mancini, Chair.
Build Rhode Island

Bruce Adams
East Coast Interiors, Inc.

Matthew Bodah, PhD
Schmidt Labor Research Center
University of Rhode Island

William Bryan
Gilbane Building Company

Roy Coulombe
RI Building & Construction Trades Council
Ironworkers Local 37

Scott G. Duhamel
RI Building & Construction Trades Council
International Union of Painters & Allied Trades

James Jackson
IBEW Local 99

Kyle Lloyd
Shawmut Design & Construction

Stephen A. Maiorisi
Brown University

George Nee
Rhode Island AFL-CIO

Charles Newton
RI Dept. of Administration, Retired.

Tolulope Kevin Olasanoye
City of Providence

Karen Quattrocchi
Equality Construction

Vincent Rossi
Rossi Electric

Michael Sabitoni
RI Building & Construction Trades Council
LIUNA

John Sinnott
RI Associated General Contractors

Chris van Beek
Deepwater Wind

Laurie White
Greater Providence Chamber of Commerce

George Zainyeh
Schectman Halperin Savage

Executive Committee

Scott Duhamel
Michael Sabitoni

Building Futures Staff

Andrew L. Cortés, Director
acortes@bfri.org

Judith Titzel,
Associate Program Director
jtitzel@bfri.org

Rita Holahan,
Operations Director
rholahan@bfri.org

Ian Chase,
Career & Training Director
ichase@bfri.org

Margarita Perez,
Program Assistant
mperez@bfri.org

Daisy Luciano,
Service Coordinator
dluciano@bfri.org

Kevin Grattan,
Graduate Service Learning Director
kgrattan@bfri.org

Brook Swanson,
Assistant Trainer
bswanson@bfri.org

Beth Ashman,
Project Manager, Apprenticeship RI
bashman@bfri.org

Amy Weinstein,
Employer Liaison, Apprenticeship RI
aweinstein@bfri.org